The Frankenmuth Historical Association strives to “preserve, communicate,
and celebrate” the unique heritage of Frankenmuth and the surrounding Franken colonies. Operating within the association are a seven-gallery museum detailing the history and evolution of the community, a collections department housing thousands of artifacts and documents, an education department dedicated to presenting our story, and a unique gift shop offering locally crafted and European goods. In addition, the association owns and operates the historic Fischer Hall (attached to the museum), built in the 1890’s, hosting concerts, parties, and local civic events, the Nickless-Hubinger flour mill featuring retail establishments, and the authentic Wolkensdörfer log house
on the outskirts of town.
Preserve, Communicate, & Celebrate
50 Years of the Frankenmuth Historical Association
Fifty years ago, a small group of Frankenmuth citizens convened at the old high school building to discuss preserving the unique history of our city and the surrounding Franconian communities. From these humble origins was born the Frankenmuth Historical Association, which today continues to "Preserve, Communicate, & Celebrate" that history through its seven-gallery permanent museum, historic performance hall, authentic log house, and reproduction 19th-century mill. The museum is also home to over 24,000 separate artifacts and objects from Frankenmuth's past, and utilizes a digital database to organize and manage this vast collection. Combined with an educational outreach program and exciting temporary exhibits, the Frankenmuth Historical Association offers historical and educational opportunities virtually unparalleled in a community of this size.
Through panels, text, photos and artifacts, this exhibit shares the 50-year odyssey of the Frankenmuth Historical Association. Visitors will also get a glimpse "behind the scenes" as part of exhibit features actual artifacts being photographed and cataloged by museum staff.
NEW! A 360-DegreeLook At Our Gift Shop,
And Our First Three Museum Exhibits